- All Devices
- Other
- Oxehealth Vital Signs
Other · Contactless vital-sign monitoring, inpatient mental health and secure settings
Oxehealth Vital Signs
Oxehealth Limited
A ceiling camera in place of the night-time bedside check. Vital Signs reads pulse and breathing rate from video to within 1.8 beats and 1.2 breaths a minute of a contact monitor, on the FDA's own account of the De Novo study, and no recall or adverse-event report names it. What the record cannot yet show is that wards are safer: the two papers that claimed reduced self-harm and cost savings across five NHS trusts have both been retracted.
Performance Metrics
Clinical Evidence
The evidence splits into two questions. Does the camera measure pulse and breathing rate accurately? And does using it make a ward safer or cheaper? The first has a clear answer. The second does not. Accuracy rests on the FDA submissions. The De Novo study (DEN200019, granted March 2021) was an observational, uncontrolled comparison in 60 adults aged 18 to 81, recruited so that skin type, body-mass index and age matched US census data, with at least six people per pair of Fitzpatrick classes. The comparator was the SOMNOscreen contact device. The primary endpoint was the root-mean-square difference (RMSD) across all measurements. Pulse RMSD was 1.81 beats per minute (one-sided 97.5 per cent confidence bound 2.19) against an objective of 3. Breathing RMSD was 1.17 breaths per minute (bound 1.33) against an objective of 2. The study was not powered for subgroups. Under a protocol the FDA calls a worst case, with a reading demanded at fixed times during every activity, 58 per cent (51 to 65) of in-label pulse attempts and 73 per cent (68 to 79) of breathing attempts produced a displayed value. The device says nothing the rest of the time. The August 2025 clearance (K243687) added a second validation: 30 subjects, including adolescents aged 12 to 17, monitored against an FDA-cleared finger pulse oximeter and a capnogram annotated by a physician blinded to both outputs, across realistic activities and metronome breathing up to 39 breaths a minute. The mean absolute error was significantly below 3 beats and 2 breaths per minute (p at or below 0.05), and every subgroup by age, sex, Fitzpatrick type and BMI stayed within those limits. Neither study is peer reviewed and neither reports the actual K243687 error values. One peer-reviewed accuracy study exists. Lewis and colleagues (Thorax 2024) ran Oxevision in six single rooms, two on respiratory wards at the Royal Brompton Hospital and four on an orthopaedic ward at the John Radcliffe, for 2,571 hours in 27 patients (10 respiratory, median age 58; 17 orthopaedic, median age 81). Nurses were blinded to the camera and it was not used for care. Of 102 paired pulse readings, the nurse value was 3.91 beats per minute higher on average, with limits of agreement from minus 10.5 to plus 18.3. Of 154 paired breathing rates, nurse values clustered at 16 to 18 and bore no relation to the camera (limits of agreement minus 8.39 to plus 6.57), running high at low rates and low at high rates. The camera's breathing rate was checked against a blinded reviewer counting breaths on 80 video clips from 10 patients: all within 3 breaths per minute, root-mean-square error 1.31. There was no contact reference for pulse, so the study shows how nurses and the camera differ, not which is right. The authors say the system's clinical use remains to be established in a trial with outcomes such as unplanned ICU admission. Oxehealth funded the study and the staff posts on it and employed or paid four of the eight authors. The outcome literature is a different matter. Ndebele and colleagues (Journal of Mental Health 2024) reported a non-randomised before-and-after evaluation over 24 months on one female and one male acute ward at Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust: bedroom self-harm incidents fell 44 per cent and bedroom ligature incidents 48 per cent. Two of the four authors are Oxehealth staff. A 2026 editorial in the same journal by a King's College London biostatistician (Chua, "a tale of two rates") revisits how those incident rates were calculated; its text is paywalled and was not read for this entry. The five-trust extension by Kekic and colleagues (Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing 2024), which reported five before-and-after studies across 12 wards and pooled the four with control groups into a 38.9 per cent relative reduction, was retracted in August 2024. All four authors were Oxehealth employees and had not declared this as a competing interest; the editor stated the paper would have been rejected without review had they done so. The economic model built on those studies (Buckley, Malcolm and Hanlon, PLOS Digital Health 2024) was retracted in July 2026. The editors found inconsistent data sources, unjustified inputs, a possible selection bias that the competing-interest handling did not address, and that the authors, who worked for a consultancy funded by Oxehealth, had never seen the full clinical data because Oxehealth ran the analysis. Two earlier cost models from the same consultancy (Journal of Medical Economics 2022) stand, but rest on the same single-trust before-and-after data. An independent systematic review of surveillance technology on mental-health wards (Griffiths and colleagues, BMC Medicine 2024) covered nine vision-based monitoring studies, rated half of all included studies low quality, and concluded that quantitative findings on self-harm, violence and cost were inconsistent or weak and the evidence insufficient. The earliest report (Barrera and colleagues, Evidence-Based Mental Health 2020) found that remote observations agreed with in-person ones over about 755 patient nights with no untoward incident, and described itself as preliminary. It declared no competing interests; a correction in June 2026 added that two of its authors are Oxehealth employees. A 2022 npj Digital Medicine study of camera monitoring in 15 post-operative intensive-care patients came from the Oxford group that founded the company, but used a research system and is not evidence for the cleared device. The same applies to the Oxevision Sleep Device, a sibling clearance. AurisMark reasoning: a De Novo grant and four 510(k) clearances in the United States, a Class IIa MDR registration in EUDAMED, a Class IIa MHRA registration in the UK and published evidence on file meet the one-mark bar. A second mark is withheld by editorial decision (28 September 2026). The prospective evidence for the measurement claim is thin and vendor-controlled: two FDA validations of 60 and 30 subjects, and one vendor-funded ward comparison with no contact reference for pulse. The outcome evidence has failed: both multi-site outcome papers are retracted, an independent systematic review finds the evidence insufficient, and a coroner's report describes the system being used in place of in-person checks. Re-evaluate for a second mark on an independent prospective study of the cleared device, with the retractions resolved.
| Study | Design | n | Sensitivity | Specificity | AUC | Published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oxehealth Limited (De Novo clinical performance study, DEN200019) | ProspectiveProspective | 60 | n/a (method-comparison endpoint): pulse RMSD 1.81 bpm, one-sided 97.5% bound 2.19 | n/a (method-comparison endpoint): breathing RMSD 1.17 breaths/min, bound 1.33 | — | FDA De Novo decision summary DEN200019, granted 26 March 2021. Observational, uncontrolled comparison against the SOMNOscreen contact device in 60 adults aged 18–81 recruited to US census proportions of skin type, BMI and age (minimum 6 per pair of Fitzpatrick classes). Both RMSD endpoints significantly below the 3 bpm and 2 breaths/min objectives; not powered for subgroups. In-label attempts yielded a displayed pulse 58% (51–65) and breathing rate 73% (68–79) of the time under a worst-case protocol. Not peer reviewed. |
| Oxehealth Limited (extended-range validation, FDA 510(k) K243687) | ProspectiveProspective | 30 | n/a (method-comparison endpoint): heart-rate MAE significantly below 3 bpm (p ≤ 0.05) | n/a (method-comparison endpoint): respiratory-rate MAE significantly below 2 breaths/min (p ≤ 0.05) | — | FDA 510(k) summary K243687, decision 27 August 2025. 30 subjects representative of the intended population including adolescents aged 12–17, dual-monitored against an FDA-cleared finger pulse oximeter and a capnogram manually annotated by a physician blinded to both outputs, during realistic activities and metronome breathing across the full 8–39 breaths/min range. All subgroups by age, sex, Fitzpatrick skin tone and BMI within ±3 bpm and ±2 breaths/min for both mean absolute difference and 95% CI. Error values are not reported numerically. Not peer reviewed. |
| Lewis A, Venugopal B, Gandhi V, et al. (vision-based monitoring on acute medical wards) | ProspectiveProspective | 27 | n/a (method-comparison endpoint): nurse pulse 3.91 bpm above camera pulse on average, limits of agreement −10.5 to +18.3, 102 pairs | n/a (method-comparison endpoint): nurse breathing rates clustered at 16–18/min and bore no relation to the camera rate (limits of agreement −8.39 to +6.57), 154 pairs; camera rate within ±3/min of a blinded video count on 80 clips, RMSE 1.31 | — | Thorax 2024;79(4):363–365 (PMID 38307845). Oxevision in six single rooms (two respiratory-ward rooms at the Royal Brompton, four orthopaedic-ward rooms at the John Radcliffe), 2,571 hours, 27 patients; nurses blinded to the camera, which was not used for care. Camera pulse and breathing-rate readings compared with routine nurse measurements taken within 5 minutes; camera breathing rate checked against a blinded reviewer counting breaths on video. No contact reference device for pulse. Reported as unobtrusive and well accepted; the authors say clinical use remains to be established in an outcome trial. Oxehealth funded the study and two researcher posts; two authors are Oxehealth employees, one a former employee and one a paid consultant. Full text read from the Brunel University repository. |
| Ndebele F, Wright K, Gandhi V, Bayley D (non-contact monitoring on acute mental-health wards) | ProspectiveProspective | 0 | n/a (incident-rate endpoint): bedroom self-harm incidents −44% relative change | n/a (incident-rate endpoint): bedroom ligature incidents −48% relative change | — | Journal of Mental Health 2024;33(3):320–325 (PMID 37589442). Mixed-methods, non-randomised controlled before-and-after evaluation over 24 months on one female and one male acute inpatient ward at Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust; patient numbers are not reported (n shown as 0). Two authors are Oxehealth employees. Graded prospective as a within-arm before/after implementation study; the five-trust extension of this work (Kekic 2024) is retracted. |
Inside the algorithm
Editorial featureHow a ceiling camera becomes a pulse and breathing rate.
Five stages — from raw input to verdict — drawn from manufacturer documentation and the public regulatory record.
- INGEST
- NORMALISE
- DETECT
- LOCALISE
- VERDICT
Stage 01 · INGEST
One fixed camera, near-infrared, always recording.
An off-the-shelf machine-vision camera with an infrared illuminator is mounted high in a single-occupancy room, so that it sees the area the patient moves around and rests in. Oxehealth specifies, installs and validates the camera and computer for each room; nothing touches the patient. Video is collected continuously, but a measurement starts only when a member of staff asks for one from a web interface on a touch-screen monitor or a tablet. Since 2022 one room can hold two separate, non-overlapping installations.
Input
Near-infrared video of one room
Inference
On-premises, per request
Inside the Auris+ Listing
Five more sections complete this device’s Auris+ Listing.
Decision Ledger
ProPro unlocks a private, cross-vendor log of every case you read on this device — what the AI called, what you concluded, and a one-line reason if you overrode it. Ready for the EU AI Act's deployer logging obligations when they land in 2028.
Clinical Evidence Deep Dive
ProPro unlocks the structured clinical-evidence summary — study count, target patient population, and a tabular accuracy-metrics view drawn from peer-reviewed sources.
Peer-Reviewed Publications
ProPro unlocks the curated peer-reviewed publication list with PubMed cross-links — the citation backbone of every editorial verdict.
Post-Market & Regulatory Conditions
ProPro unlocks the post-market surveillance summary, recall record, and the conditions of approval that bound real-world use.
AI Algorithm Version History
ProPro unlocks the chronological record of algorithm version changes — what changed when, drawn from manufacturer changelogs and regulatory filings.
Regulatory Approvals
Class IIa
K251200
Class II
DEN200019
Class II
Safety Record
No recall, enforcement action or MAUDE adverse-event report naming Oxehealth or Oxevision, and none under product code QME, was found in the openFDA device databases queried directly on 14 September 2026. The FDA's identified risk is delayed or incorrect treatment from an erroneous reading or a misread one; the mitigations are the special controls and labelling. The labelling excludes patients with known arrhythmias, because the device reports pulse rate rather than heart rate, warns that accuracy may fall above 110 beats per minute, which the De Novo cohort did not include, and lists bright light, showers and clothing as conditions that block a reading. The clinical hazard is the reading that never comes: in the De Novo study roughly four in ten in-label pulse attempts returned nothing, and the indication makes periodic in-person checks a condition of use. Patient acceptability is contested in the peer-reviewed record: interviews at Broadmoor (BMC Psychiatry 2023) found the system acceptable when used for deterioration and safety but raised privacy and "big brother" concerns, and a 2026 letter from survivor researchers linked to the Stop Oxevision campaign argues that surveillance is not safety. Two records concern how the system is used rather than what it measures. A coroner's Prevention of Future Deaths report (Morgan-Rose Hart, Essex, 19 December 2023, to Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust) found that Oxevision alerts had been muted or reset without the correct procedure, that a bathroom alert was reset and the patient left unattended for about 50 minutes, and raised the concern that staff may have used Oxevision instead of face-to-face observations rather than alongside them. The Broadmoor interviews record patients describing a death in bed that the system had not detected or prevented. Neither is a report of a measurement fault; both bear on the condition of use that in-person checks continue.
Intended Use & Indications
Per the FDA indications for use (K243687, the widest current wording): The Vital Signs device is intended for noninvasive spot measurement of pulse rate and breathing rate when the subject is still. It is software assessing video footage from a fixed- installation solution for use within single occupancy rooms within hospitals, general care and secured environments with professional healthcare oversight and where a framework exists which mandates periodic checks by a trained professional to ensure subject safety. The system is intended for use by appropriately trained staff and should not be used by untrained users. The Vital Signs device is indicated for use on subjects 12 years of age or older who do not require critical care or continuous vital signs monitoring. The device is not intended to be the sole method of checking the physical health of a subject. The De Novo wording (DEN200019), carried unchanged into K211906, K220899 and K251200, says "estimated breathing rate (chest wall movements)", adds "with a duty of care" and limits use to those 18 years of age or older. Prescription use.